Need home health aide training in Alaska?
There are a few options one can consider. To know which option one is best for you, it’s important to know the laws on a national and local level for becoming a home health aide.
To start, there is a Federal law that says home health aides working for a certified Medicare facility, must be properly trained. The training requirements on a national level are one has to complete 75 hours of training, which must include 16 hours of clinical training. In addition, certified home health aides must pass a competency exam.
There are two important things to note:
- These standards are only in place at certified Medicare facilities.
- States may require additional training. These are just the Federal minimum standards.
Alaska Specific Training Requirements For Home Health Aides
Alaska is one of the few states that require additional training to become a certified home health aide. In Alaska, all certified home health aides must obtain at least 140 hours of training, which must include 80 hours of clinical.
This is the highest amount of hours required in the U.S. On a positive note, home health aides in Alaska are some of the highest paid in the country due to the high demand.
Home health aide training in Alaska is typically done on the job. Meaning home health agencies will provide the training to new hires.
Therefore, no matter your experience, you can apply to both certified and noncertified medicare facilities.