Home health aide training in Colorado can get a bit confusing.
There are both Colorado state and Federal laws home health aides must learn, in order to choose the best training option for their career.
Federal law says that home health aides working at a Medicare Approved Facility, must have 75 hours of training, including 16 hours of clinical training. In addition, all home health aides working at a Medicare Approved Facility must pass a competency exam.
Most home health aide training in Colorado and across the U.S. is done on the job through a home health aide agency. Federal law allows home health aides to get trained during their first 120 days of employment. Therefore, in order to work at a Medicare Approved Facility, no experience is required.
Home Health Aide Training In Colorado
Next, there are state laws, which are important to know about.
Some states license individual home health aides. Other states, such as Colorado, only license the home health agencies. The licensing of home health aide agencies is performed by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Affairs Board of Nursing.
Since the state of Colorado only regulates home health aide agencies, and not home health aides, there’s no formal training program you must go through in order to work as a home health aide. Unless that is, you’re working for a Medicare Approved Facility. If that’s the case, you’ll have to obtain the Federal minimum training requirements for home health aides.
Keep in mind, each individual home health aide agency will still have a training program.
In addition, each individual home health aide agency will have different requirements for new hires. These requirements may be that home health aides have a high school diploma or its equivalent and carry a valid U.S. driver’s license. However, there are no Federal educational requirements one must obtain to become a home health aide.