Home health aide training in Iowa can get a bit complex.
Future home health aides must understand both Iowa state and Federal laws. This article at Health Aide Training Center will provide all you need to know for becoming a home health aide in Iowa.
First, it’s important to know the Federal laws for working as a home health aide. Across the U.S. to work as a certified home health aide, one must obtain a minimum of 75 hours of training, including at least 16 hours of clinical training.
Any facility or agency that is Medicare approved, must employ certified home health aides.
The 75 hours of training needed is the minimum. Some states such as Illinois require additional training hours, while states such as Iowa have not raised the training hours.
Iowa Home Health Aide Training Requirements
However, the State of Iowa is very unique in how it certifies home health aides. In order to become a home health aide, one must first become a certified nurse’s aide and be registered as a nurse with the Iowa Board of Nursing.
Where To Find HHA Training In Iowa?
Home health aides can be trained by a home health agency or through an approved program at a community college.
Here are five options in the state of Iowa to get the required home health aide training:
- Clinton Community College – certificate
- Iowa Western Community College – diploma
- Muscatine Community College – certificate
- Scott Community College – certificate
- Western Iowa Tech Community College – certificate
If you choose to work with an agency to get your training, make sure you’re entering an approved home health aide training program by the state.