How does one go about getting the proper home health aide training in Michigan?
It starts with understanding how the regulations work.
The first thing you must know is that there are both National and local laws.
While most licensing for professional is done on a state basis, the Federal Government gets involved in home health aide licensing due to involvement of medicare and medicaid.
The minimum training requirements to become a certified home health aide on a national level are 75 hours of total training, including 16 hours of on the job training. Plus, all certified home health aides must pass a competency exam.
Next, it’s important to understand that there are both certified medicare facilities and non-certified medicare facilities.
A medicare certified facility must employ certified home health aides. A non-certified facility is under no obligation to employ certified home health aides.
Michigan HHA Training Requirements
While some states have additional requirements to become a home health aide, the state of Michigan doesn’t.
So, if you’re working for a non-certified medicare agency, you could become a home health aide today. You just have to meet an agency’s guidelines, and then, go through an employer specific training program.
If you choose to work for a certified agency, you must then comply with the CMS’s minimum training regulations.
While there are community colleges and vocational schools in Michigan who offer a training program for home health aides that meet the CMS’s guidelines, most home health aides are certified with on the job training. Due to the high demand for home health aides, many agencies provide this training at no cost.