Home health aide training in Minnesota is not highly regulated. But, for future home health aides, there’s still a lot to know about becoming a home health aide in Minnesota.
The first thing to know is that there are both Federal and Minnesota specific laws that home health aides must understand. Federal law says that home health aides must complete a minimum of 75 hours of training, including 16 hours of clinical training.
The Federal laws are only enforced at Medicare/Medicaid approved facilities. It’s up to each state how they want to regulate facilities and individual home health aides that do not take Medicare/Medicare.
Minnesota Home Health Aide Training Requirements
In Minnesota, you can work as a home health aide without a license. However, you may only work at agencies that do not take Medicare/Medicaid. If that’s the case, you must meet the Federal minimum training guidelines to work as a home health aide at an approved agency.
While you’re allowed to work as a non-licensed HHA in Minnesota, different employers have different requirements. Some home health agencies, even if they’re not Medicare/Medicaid approved, may only hire licensed home health aides.
If you do decide to get your certification, you will then have to apply to be on the state’s nursing registry.
Where To Find Home Health Aide Training in Minnesota
The Minnesota Department Health Nursing Assistant Registry approves of training programs throughout the state, which include multiple community colleges and technical schools.
What you want to look for is a nursing assistant/home health aide certification that is approved by the state of Minnesota.