Where can you find home health aide training in Missouri?
To know what option is best for you, it’s important to understand exactly how home health aide certification works.
First things first, there are both Missouri specific laws and Federal laws.
Federal law requires all home health aides working at certified Medicare facility to have 75 hours of training, which must include 16 hours of clinical training. In addition, all certified home health aides must pass a competency exam.
The important thing to note here is that the Federal law only requires this training for Medicare approved facilities and agencies.
It’s then up to each state to determine what the requirements will be to work as a home health aide.
Requirements To Be A HHA In Missouri
In the state of Missouri, there are no certifications one must obtain to become a home health aide. A certification is only required if you plan to work at a certified Medicare facility or agency. This training is then provided by the employer. There is no formal educational course you need to take before applying.
Instead of certifying individuals, the state of Missouri has an approval process for agencies. Each agency, no matter if they’re Medicare approved or not, must meet certain requirements laid out by the state. This includes what is and isn’t included in a training program and that all agencies issue a background check on potential hires.
In both instances, no educational requirements are needed. However, while federal law states that not even a high school diploma is needed to become a certified home health aide, an employer may require a diploma or its equal for all its employees.