Home health aide training in Wyoming can get somewhat complex.
In Wyoming, there is no home health aide specific training program or designation. Instead, to work as a home health aide you must first complete an approved Certified Nursing Aide (CNA) program.
Once you have your CNA, you can then be hired by a home health care agency.
The State of Wyoming then sets standards for how home health agencies train their home health aides. State law requires home health agencies to provide 16 hours of additional training upon being hired in the first two weeks:
To get a better idea of what your training will look like, you will:
- Step # 1 – Complete an approved CNA program. This is a 75 hours training program, which will include 16 hours of clinical training.
- Step # 2 – Get hired by a home health agency and get 16 hours of training.
Wyoming Home Health Aide Training Requirements
The state requires home health agencies training programs, to include the following before any client assignment:
- (A) Orientation to homemaker services;
- (B) Understanding and working with various client populations;
- (C) Understanding basic human needs;
- (D) Communication;
- (E) Practical knowledge and skill in homemaking;
- (F) Maintaining a clean, safe, and healthy environment;
- (G) Universal precautions;
- (H) Emergency procedures; and
- (I) Client Rights and obligations.