How Long Is Home Health Aide Training?

How long is home health aide training? Well, the answer isn’t as easy as it seems.

There are both Federal and state specific laws pertaining to training home health aides. In addition, there are both certified and noncertified home health aide agencies. Depending on the state you plan to work in and the type of facility you plan to work in, the hours required for training will vary.

Federal Requirements For Home Health Aide Training

As mentioned, there is a Federal requirement for home health aide training. Federal law states that certified home health aides receive at least 75 hours of training, including 16 hours of clinical or on the job training. Furthermore, all certified home health aide must pass a competency exam.

However, Federal law only pertains to home health aide agencies and facilities that accept Medicare. If an agency or facility doesn’t accept Medicare, it isn’t required for them to employ certified home health aides based on the Federal law.

How Long Is Home Health Aide Training?

Next, in order to find out how long home health aide training will take you, you must be familiar with your state’s laws.

Specifically, you must know:

  1. Whether or not your state requires home health aides to get the proper training before working. And.
  2. The amount of training required

If your state doesn’t require home health aides to be certified, you can technically start work today as a home health aide at a non-certified medicare agency or facility.

If you state does certify home health aides, you must look at the specific training requirements below. Certain states require training over and above the Federal minimum, while others have adapted the Federal minimum home health aide training standards.

StateMinimum Training HoursMinimum Clinical Hours
StateMinimum Training HoursMinimum Clinical Hours
Alabama7516
Alaska14080
Arizona7516
Arkansas7516
California12020
Colorado 7516
Connecticut7516
Delaware7516
District of Columbia 7516
Florida7516
Georgia7516
Hawaii10070
Idaho 12040
Illinois12040
Indiana7516
Iowa 7516
Kansas11045
Kentucky7516
Louisiana7516
Maine18070
Maryland10040
Massachusetts 7516
Michigan 7516
Minnesota7516
Mississippi7516
Missouri7516
Montana9125
Nebraska7516
Nevada7516
New Hampshire 10060
New Jersey 7616
New Mexico7516
New York7516
North Carolina7516
North Dakota7516
Ohio7516
Oklahoma7516
Oregon7516
Pennsylvania7516
Rhode Island10020
South Carolina7516
South Dakota7516
Tennessee7516
Texas7516
Utah7516
Vermont8030
Virginia 7516
Washington8550
West Virginia7516
Wisconsin12032
Wyoming9116

Where To Get Home Health Aide Training?

The majority of home health aides are trained on the job through their employer. Training takes place during the first few weeks of employment, as Federal law requires all home health aides to get the required training in the first 120 days of employment. Therefore, in most states you can get a home health aide job with no experience and become certified within the first few weeks. 

Leave a Reply